Student Literary Awards

Click here to purchase the 2017 Student Literary Awards Anthology!


The Student Literary Awards honor the Colorado winners of Letters About Literature and River of Words, two national competitions presented each year by Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book in affiliation with the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress.

Congratulations to our Colorado Letters About Literature 2017 winners and our Colorado River of Words 2017 winners.

To purchase a Student Literary Awards Anthology, please click here.


Our 14th annual Student Literary Awards ceremony will be held on May 12, 2017, 2-4 p.m. at the Denver Public Library's main branch, 10 West 14th Avenue Parkway. The winning students, surrounded by parents, family members, teachers, and educators from across the state, will be recognized for their literary and artistic achievements.

Awards to winners in the state River of Words competition were selected by artist Rik Sargent, retired Colorado Supreme Court Justice Gregory Hobbs, and Colorado Poet Laureate Joseph Hutchison. Authors Teague Bohlen, Stephanie Blake, Rondi Frieder, Peggy Tibbetts, Judith Robbins Rose and Leah Basoff selected winners for the Letters About Literature competition.

For more information, please contact Marnie Lansdown at 303.894.7951 x 18 or