2012 Student Literary Awards


Colorado students were honored at the ninth annual Student Literary Awards at the Denver Public Library on Thursday, May 10, 2012. The winning students, surrounded by parents, family members, teachers and educators from across the state, were recognized for their literary or artistic achievements in two national competitions presented by the Library of Congress:

River of Words contestants create art and poetry about the role of watersheds and the environment in our lives.

Letters About Literature participants write a personal letter to an author about how their book changed their perspective on the world.

Colorado Humanities and its program department, Colorado Center for the Book, administer the program at the state level. "This year's increased participation shows we're offering K-12 programs that challenge the creativity and critical thinking skills of young people," said Josephine Jones, Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book Director of Programs. "The quality of work submitted continues to improve in each year of the competition."

To purchase a copy of the anthology click here.

River of Words State Poetry Winners

1st Place Lana Smith
2nd Place Alexis Backhaus
3rd Place Sydney May
Honorable Mention Aaron Eckhardt

CATEGORY TWO (Grades 3-6)
1st Place Kylie Hunter
2nd Place Noble Alexander
3rd Place Meredith Rigsby
Honorable Mention Ana belle Faivre

1st Place Thalia Valles
2nd Place Marley Loveman-Brown
3rd Place Isaac Gonzales
Honorable Mention Isabel Salsbury

CATEGORY FOUR (Grades 10-12)
1st Place Katie McMenamin
2nd Place Todd Beckman
3rd Place Ashuka  Xue
Honorable Mention Maddy Erger

River of Words State Artwork Winners

1st Place Julian Bourassa

CATEGORY TWO (Grades 3-6)
1st Place Skye McCrimmon
2nd Place Maya Hunter
3rd Place Abinadab Rodriquez

1st Place Emily Hopwood
2nd Place Alison Su

CATEGORY FOUR (Grades 10-12)
1st Place Serene Singh

River of Words National Finalists

Eli Chavez
Kaden Kloppe
Catherine Ritchhart

CATEGORY FOUR (Grades 10-12)
Alaina LaPanse
Jill Mitchell

Letters About Literature State Winners

LEVEL ONE (Grades 4-6)
1st Place Ainsley Borak
2nd Place Alex Arellano
3rd Place Skyla LaFord
Honorable Mention Lucero Martinez Torres

LEVEL TWO (Grades 7-8)
1st Place Marley Loveman-Brown
2nd Place Faith Spino
3rd Place Danie Thomas
Honorable Mention Zoe Fiedler

LEVEL THREE (Grades 9-12)
1st Place Hailey Smith
2nd Place Lauren Lipski
3rd Place Morgan Fromme
Honorable Mention Brian Burlage